PDA

View Full Version : Can experimenting (demoing) lots of racquets be the cause of arm discomfort?

pmata814
08-17-2007, 08:18 PM
This is sort of a follow-up to another thread here but I didn't want to barge in on his post.

I've been playing for about 2 yrs. now and I can't remember the last time I felt discomfort in my arm or shoulder. I've taken a lot of lessons, as recently as last month actually, and according to the instructor I have very good form on my strokes. But lately I've been experimenting with different racquets, and also experimenting by adding lead, and I've begun to feel pain in my shoulder and symptoms of tennis elbow! Could it be from so much switching of racquets and weight? Here are some of the racquets I've been hitting with:

Tour Diablo MP
Pure Storm Team
Pure Storm Tour
APD

I'm a 3.5 player who takes full, fast and loopy swings. Any opinions are greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Zets147
08-17-2007, 08:21 PM
It might be some of the racquets that you are trying out. They may not be suited for you (your arm).

pmata814
08-17-2007, 08:26 PM
by the way...the racquet I've been hitting with for the last couple of months is the APD. But after demoing the Pure Storm Tour I really liked how I played (and how it felt) with a heavier and flexier racquet so I've been experimenting with some of the frames in my bag trying to get them to feel like the Pure Storm tour. Just thought this might be relevant.

Bottle Rocket
08-17-2007, 08:39 PM
Of course!

It would be like going running and switching between a bunch of shoes that you have never worn before. You think your feet would feel good after that?