PDA

View Full Version : M-fil 300 feeling bulky to swing. Any tweaks?

kidwithshirt
08-17-2007, 11:38 PM
I got a Mfil 300 last month and it's pretty good for the price (got it for 50)

But it feels really bulky when swinging. I am no professional but I guess making it head-light or head-heavy would help (one of the another)

When i bought this racquet it was a 1/4" grip, but i needed a 3/8 so the seller added a layer of something like Styrofoam and a normal grip over it

apart from that the racquet right now is

Balance: 3pts Head Light
Swingweight: 317

according to TW

Strung with some really crappy synthetic gut at 58.

-

I am a beginner started 2-3 month ago. I can play with my high school teamates (and beat them) that played 1-3 years.

I think tweaking this racquet is vital in order for me to improve, so any ideas would be lovely

s.sharm01
08-18-2007, 01:53 AM
um. if its swinging heavy there are really two choices.

1. Get your body used to it. Often using a new racquet especially if its head heavy or just heavier in general it does seem to swings heavier, especially if you haven't used something like that.
2. Add weight to the handle. You can either tape some lead and put it in the trap door if the 300 has one, or you can put it under the grip. I have read that there is no way to decrease the swingweight. but doing this makes it easier to swing just because more of the weight is towards the hand. But note that doing this will slightly decrease the power of the racquet.

(not all that technical of an explanation just cause i don't have the technical knowledge)

But lead tape is cheap and its fun to experiment.

Steve H.
08-18-2007, 03:33 AM