PDA

View Full Version : ball machine

Brian_C
08-20-2007, 12:39 PM
im looking for an afordable ball machine, so far i have found this but do u guyz think it will be about to go hard enough i've been playing for about 6 months im 16 years old what do u think link below

http://www.tennis-ball-machine.com/catalog/shopping/Sports_Tutor_Tennis_Twist#accessories

dcottrill
08-20-2007, 01:43 PM
I remember when I was 16. Money was always an issue. So, I know that $200 is not exactly pocket change to you. I also know that, as a young tennis player, you want a ball machine. But please...don't waste you hard earned money on a Tennis Twist. You'll outgrow it in about a week. I know you don't want to hear this, but save your money until you can afford a "real" machine. $600 will get you an i-Sam or a TT Pro Lite. I know $600 sounds like a fortune right now, but if you have $200 for a Tennis Twist, you're one third of the way there.

Good luck.

Venetian
08-20-2007, 01:45 PM
Yeah the Tennis Twist is for small children to learn with. Possibly the elderly as well.

mark rodgers
08-23-2007, 12:55 PM
NO, NO, on the Twist. If you're just learning, there is nothing wrong with hitting against the wall. Most high schools will have some courts with concrete walls to hit on. It is a great (free) training tool.

How about this suggestion: Some public tennis centers have ball machine time for rent on a hourly, monthly, or yearly basis. Our local tennis center has a monthly pass for about $30 and a yearly pass for about $200. Compare that to an hourly rate of $10 to $12. You'll eat that $200 in no time and the rest will be free. Maybe rates are a little more in your area. Start by doing a month and see how much you actually use it. Parents will cough up $30 a lot faster than $200. But if you can show that you use $100 of machine time for $30, they'll keep giving it to you just to give you an activity outside of school. If you're having to pay for it yourself then it makes much more sense.