PDA

View Full Version : Sharing My Tennis Lessons Experience

RedWeb
08-20-2007, 02:57 PM
NOTE: Sorry about the length of the 1st 3-4 entries in this thread but I needed to set some background information.

I'm starting this thread to document my experiences with lessons. I'd like to get feedback about what I'm being taught during these lessons. Also hopefully sharing my experiences will help others and, if they choose to take lessons or are following a similar path that I am, assist in avoiding problems that I encounter.

Here's my background. I started playing tennis about 2 years ago at the age of 50. Prior to that time I never played organized tennis and only hit 3-4 times a year when the family would take the Wal-Mart rackets out to the local park and hit around for an hour or so. I'm a fairly good athlete having played basketball up through the small college level and all major sports in high school. I run 15-20 miles per week at a 7:30-8:30 min clip, do a little weight lifting (2x/week), and yoga (5-6x/week). For my age group on a fitness scale of 1-10 I'd give myself an 8-8.5. I'm 6'3" and 200 lbs (goal 190). I live in Texas.