PDA

View Full Version : Comparing Pro Kennex Racquets

Fred132
02-20-2004, 02:29 PM
I've been using a 5g for several months...I love the arm-friendliness of this stick, I can volley well with it, and have good touch and control with it.

For me the only think it lacks is a little more power. So I am planning on demoing the 15G PSE and the Core1 No. 10 for comparision.

Has anyone played with each of these 3 racquets? Which did you ultimately select, and why?

Thanks!

swilburn
02-21-2004, 08:07 PM
I am demoing the 7g, 15g pse and the core 1 #10. The 7g is ok if you like a head light racket. I working through some elbow problems so I can't test them as I would like. That said, I like the core 1 #10 best so far. A little lighter than the others, but still punches through the ball because of the balance. Seems to be very accurate in targeting. The 15g pse is a little stiffer, so more power- less feeling. Well worth demoing them!

Steven

Fred132
02-22-2004, 07:41 AM
The 15g pse is a little stiffer, so more power- less feeling.

Thanks for the comments. Interesting...I usually find stiffer racquets more powerful, at the expense of arm and shoulder trauma....

Fred

louis netman
02-24-2004, 12:15 AM
if you're an arm sufferer in need of pop on a 5g, 1) try adding some lead to the 3/9 or 2/10 positions on the frame 2) why don't you try more flexible stix? the 5g is to stiff at RDC 65. try stuff from volkl...the old c9 has been very good to my torn rotator. the tour 10 MP with open pattern (16x19) is nice too...Fantasy land: Volkl C9 with kinetic technology......oh yeah!!!!!!!!

Fred132
02-26-2004, 01:03 PM
I played yesterday with a Core1 No.10...interesting racquet. Compared to the 5G, I got a LOT more pop on my serve. Volleying was fun, too...nice and solid, and it worked well on putaways as well as touch shots. It felt very stable, especially since it is actually lighter than the 5G. FWIW the fit and finish of the racquet looks to be high quality.