PDA

View Full Version : Service rule question


tennisbass
08-26-2007, 10:11 PM
I am right handed. Recently when I begin to serve to the duce side and bouncing the ball on the ground before the toss, my right foot is behind me to the left of the center line and my left foot is front of me to the right side of the center line. However, upon tossing and making contact with the ball, both of my foot are on the right side of the center line and then off the ground. A friend of mine watching the match said this is illegal. He said both of my foot should be on the right side of the center line at all time...even when I am just bouncing the ball on the ground. Is he correct?

Thanks,

BigboyDan
08-26-2007, 10:22 PM
Yes, he is correct. Rule 17.

tennisbass
08-26-2007, 10:45 PM
Thanks BigboyDan. I just read rule 17 and I shall stand further to the right.