PDA

View Full Version : Serving Rules


QuietDaze
08-29-2007, 06:26 AM
Ok, had a match this past Sunday but anyway, I always thought that if you decided to catch the ball and start over you could catch it on your racquet. Well, when I did that, the chick looked a little strange when I called 'first serve' before I served. So I paid it no attention, then later in the game I did it again and she made a loud sighing noise. I don't know if she was annoyed or if she thought the ball wasn't allowed to touch the racquet if I didn't complete the serve.

I hardly ever let the ball bounce after my toss, I usually catch it with my racquet. I checked the rules and it clearly states you ARE allowed to catch it with your racquet so I wasn't wrong in doing so.

Has anyone ever had an opponent complain about catching the ball on the racquet? I can't remember ever seeing the pros do it so maybe that's why she thought it was wrong?

Bodacious DVT
08-29-2007, 07:07 AM
she probably just thought it was annoying or something. as long as you dont swing at it, you can catch it.