PDA

View Full Version : Great Serve Practice Game

Moves
08-29-2007, 08:36 AM
Hi all,

So last night I was working on my second serve to see if I can get some kick to it and I discovered a cool game.

I started playing a set based on my serve. I would hit my flat serve for my first and hit a "really going for it" second serve. If I hit either one in I would get the point.

To make it tougher I decided that on game point I had to hit a flat serve in instead of the kick serve.

Well, I won 6-0 and was suprised how often I got in my kick serve while still taking a hard cut at it.

So, I then upped the difficulty and said that I would only get one serve on game point and it had to be a flat serve. I ended up winning 6-1.

These two sets ended up taking me an hour to finish. I had some breaks as my arm was getting sore.

Well, I couldn't recommend this enough. While I was out there to improve my second serve (which I did) I ended up improving my first serve even more! I really loved the artificial pressure on my first serve on game point. And how true is it that your opponent is going to crush your second serve on Ad-in or Ad-out. So to win the game you have to get your first serve in.

Just thought I'd share my new serve improvement game.

Moves

burosky
08-29-2007, 08:50 AM
Thanks for sharing. Excellent way to practice serves when you are by yourself. If interested in upping the pressure more, include directional control to simulate serving to the opponents weaker side, serving to the body, pulling the opponent wide, etc...

widmerpool
08-29-2007, 08:53 AM
sounds like a good way to drill home the risk-reward prop of the 2nd serve.

i.e. it's worth trading a few doubles for the advantage of a stronger 2nd serve.

we tend to overrate the "worth" of the tangible and obvious. and we're risk adverse (eg we opt to win $100 100% of the time over winning $1,000 20% of the time).

a double fault is very tangible negative. point lost.