PDA

View Full Version : Simple things to improve hand eye coordination?

firstblud
08-31-2007, 01:12 AM
Anyone know any good simple drills I can do alone to improve hand eye coordination? i know about the bouncing the ball on your racket with a "frying pan" (eastern) grip and dribbling the ball with your racket. just wondering if there's anything else.

my hand eye coordination is the worst thing about my game because i consistently miss the center of the strings :( as i have worse than average hand-eye coord even though i started playing tennis about 3 or 4 months ago.

sapient007
08-31-2007, 05:32 AM
i started playing basket ball this week in an attempt to get a little better hand eye coord as well as quickness. i think it should work out decently.

Geezer Guy
08-31-2007, 07:56 AM
In addition to bouncing and dribbling, try throwing and catching the ball on your racquet. Start with the ball at rest on your strings. Flip the ball up in the air a couple of feet, and then gently catch it on your strings as it descends.

Also, get a reflex ball. It's a rubber ball with big nubs that make it bounce randomly. Stand a few feet from a wall, and toss the ball underhanded against the wall and catch it. Really concentrate on watching the ball and making a good clean catch. As you get better, back up from the wall and toss it a bit harder. This really helps both your hand-eye and your reaction time. (Don't use a racquet - just toss and catch with your hands.)

Noisy Ninja
08-31-2007, 08:00 AM
When I used to play juniors, my coach used to have his players practice juggling tennis balls to improve hand-eye coordination prior to doing volley drills (another drill that definitely requires and improves hand-eye coordination).

Mystikal
08-31-2007, 08:27 AM
Ive started bouncing balls on my frame, when I tried a few months ago when I first started I could only get the initial bounce onto the frame. Now I can do it 4 to 5 times before losing the ball.

Bagumbawalla