PDA

View Full Version : Embarrassing moments

tennismx
10-30-2004, 02:12 PM
Let's hear your most embarrassing moment from playing tennis that made you go :oops: , or maybe an embarrassing moment that happened to a friend. Haha I have plenty of 'em, but what's yours? We won't laugh at you; we'll laugh with you...

chad shaver
10-30-2004, 04:25 PM
Was playing doubles with some friends once. My partner was serving and I was at net. Guy had been blasting all day. Suddenly, I hear, "CLUNK....uh oh". About that time, the ball hits me from behind right in the twins. I was lying on the ground laughing and trying not to be sick. My partner was afraid to come near me. He went and stood outside the fence while our opponents checked on me.

Several years ago, when I was a HS tennis coach, I was working my players through some passing shot drills. I was at net feeding balls and talking to someone else all at the same time (not smart). Person I was talking to said something funny and I started laughing...went to hit a volley, shanked it, and hit myself in the face with the ball, sending my glasses skidding across the court. None of my players laughed at me.....yeah....right.

Nearly knocked out my doubles partner once, too. We were playing against the HS version of the Scud. He his his serves sooooo hard, but you never knew where they were gonna go. He blasted in a first serve, I hit the return as cleanly as I've ever hit a shot in my life....but late. The ball drilled my partner right in the back of the head...he teetered forward and had to catch himself on the net. When I got to him, his eyes were kinda glazed. He played back the rest of the time while I was returning.

tennismx
10-30-2004, 05:50 PM
lol i've hit my doubles partners a lot too

my embarrassing moment was not very glorious
id like to say i sustained an injury from tennis after diving after a winner or throwing my shoulder out during an overhead but...