PDA

View Full Version : Jazz guitar anyone ?

bluegrasser
09-18-2007, 04:43 AM
Having played R&R, bluegrass, and blues mostly, at least attempting to - this winter I'm going to take a crack at Jazz guitar - I've always dug players like Wes, Joe Pass, Barney Kessell, and umm singers like Diana Krall, Ella etc. and have quite a few jazz cd's. So, any jazz guitarists out there in tennis land or jazz enthusiasts.

Gugafan_Redux
09-18-2007, 07:18 AM
I was a rock guitarist mainly, back when I played. But I liked innovators, and got into Wes Montgomery. Figured out a few of his tunes and got to know the octave techniques -- playing melodies in double, basically. But those days are long gone.

vkartikv
09-18-2007, 07:24 AM
I don't know if this fits but how about Marc Antoine?

AlexP
09-18-2007, 01:25 PM
Just saw McLaughlin two nights ago, amazing.

North
09-18-2007, 02:23 PM
Having played R&R, bluegrass, and blues mostly, at least attempting to - this winter I'm going to take a crack at Jazz guitar - I've always dug players like Wes, Joe Pass, Barney Kessell, and umm singers like Diana Krall, Ella etc. and have quite a few jazz cd's. So, any jazz guitarists out there in tennis land or jazz enthusiasts.

Yeah, I used to play jazz guitar. I grew up in NYC and lived in the West Village for about 12 years, so I played in a lot of clubs with a lot of awesome people. Joe Pass is terrific and a very nice guy. I used to listen to and learn a lot from Tal Farlow, Johnny Smith, and George VanEpps - classic masters of jazz guitar. I haven't played in years and really miss it. Are you taking lessons or are you trying to teach yourself?

caesar66
09-18-2007, 04:08 PM
If you're into fusion, I saw Al Di Meola last year and was blown away. I like to pretend that I am adept at jazz, but I'm really more of a rock/blues player.

bluegrasser
09-19-2007, 05:45 AM