PDA

View Full Version : new to board. cant find the right racquet, need some assistance

djillusion
09-24-2007, 09:03 AM
hey guys & gals -- been playing tennis for over 15 years. not sure about my player level, etc but i do play alot (so not fresh to the sport by any means).

i have been using a dunlop revelation for the past 8-10 yrs. now i know dunlop really doesnt have a stick like this per say any more in their arsenal, but im trying to attempt to find a replacement. why? well, really i have no reason to at all. its just been a long time since i have seen where racquet technology has gone, so while i dont really need to buy anything, trying to see if anything would actually help my game.

some aspects of my game:
**semi-western grip on the forehand with LOTS of top spin
**2 handed backhand with top spin and im using my 1 handed slice backhand alot too
**pretty decent to fast 1st serve. usually flat however spin it when needed
**major american twist for the 2nd serve
**i swing pretty hard on my forehand with an open stance
**i do enjoy playing the net as much as i can

the key to my continued use of the dunlop revelation is the fact its 95 sq in (dont ever want a stick more than 100) and it has GREAT power. its a wider frame and i usually just stick with top spin syn string (as i tend to break strings alot too).

i have demo'ed these racquets recently, but just havent found the power im looking for with any of them:

babolat aeropro drive with cortex:
**nice stick but not enough power.
**no vibration at all, kinda stiff but not too badd

babolat pure drive roddick racquet with cortex:
**i dont think the demo strings were anything higher than 52
**very hard for me to keep the ball in the baseline
**decent to good power, but again not sure if the strings were where i would have em if it was mine

volki DNX:
**way toooo stiff, offered nothing worthwhile to my game

head microgel extreme & head microgel radical: