PDA

View Full Version : Lessons

AM28143
10-01-2007, 04:53 AM
Is it possible for anyone to become good without lessons?

Tennismastery
10-01-2007, 05:13 AM

Absolutely. However, you must study the game and understand it within the context of proper stroke production, progressions, footwork, strategy and swing paths.

Also, you must be able to understand what your body is doing. In other words, you need to be conscious of how you move, swing, etc.

Having a video camera can help tremendously. Seeing what you are doing, then comparing it to that which you see the pros and skilled players doing.

With the amount of information on such sites as TennisOne.com, TennisPlayer.net, hi_techtennis.com, etc., there is ample opportunity to learn how to play the game today, by reading what good teaching pros are offering within such media.

All that said, I'm a teaching pro, and I can tell you that it is still rare indeed, for individuals to master the game without some advanced training with really good instructors. It is a good investment in time and money, to get some additional feedback in your game.

Duzza
10-01-2007, 05:28 AM
I stopped having a weekly lesson about a year ago now, I then switched to a different coach whom I have a lesson with whenever I feel I need to fix some kinks. He's a great coach and has improved my game a lot, but I've pretty much just been hitting with friends of the same level and in my eyes my game has improved more in the past year than it had any other year. Results are showing it too!

Serve em Up
10-01-2007, 05:38 AM
I think it is a good idea to switch teachers every now and again. Every teaching pro sees things a little differently. If you are honestly practicing what you're being taught and you feel you're stagnating, maybe getting a fresh look from a different pro would help.

Diable
10-01-2007, 06:37 AM
Hey AM28143

I played 4.5-5.0 a few years ago after only 2 two years of playing tennis.