PDA

View Full Version : what NTRP would I be?

whatsgood4u
10-01-2007, 01:58 PM
I'm not an expert on ntrp, but the highschool varsity coach of my school is registered as a 5.5 player and wins some 5.5 usta tornaments. I played him recently in a competative match to warm him up for a tournament and of course he beat me. But I did alot better than I thought I would. We played a 10 game pro set and he won 10-6. If you had to geuss(I know this is very innacurate but just ammuse me), what NTRP would you rate me by this result assuming he was playing his hardest?
Thanks guys.

goober
10-01-2007, 02:01 PM
I'm not an expert on ntrp, but the highschool varsity coach of my school is registered as a 5.5 player and wins some 5.5 usta tornaments. I played him recently in a competative match to warm him up for a tournament and of course he beat me. But I did alot better than I thought I would. We played a 10 game pro set and he won 10-6. If you had to geuss(I know this is very innacurate but just ammuse me), what NTRP would you rate me by this result assuming he was playing his hardest?
Thanks guys.

Anywhere from 4.5-5.5. Not enough info. Just ask your coach what he thinks your are unless you are happy with a lot of wild guesses from a internet forum :D

Geezer Guy
10-02-2007, 06:05 AM
I agree with Goob. If your coach is a competitive 5.5 player, just ask him what he thinks you are. He may have been taking it easy on you after getting a couple of breaks, or you may have really pushed him. It's impossible for us to say. (If he coaches as well as he plays, you're very fortunate to have him as a coach.)

kevhen
10-02-2007, 07:50 AM
He likely wasn't playing his hardest since he doesn't want to hurt your confidence. But if he was playing his hardest and he is a legit 5.5 then you would likely be a 5.0 if you lost 10-6. A 4.5 will struggle to get a game against a 5.5. I am 4.5 and lost 7 games in a row to a 5.5 and I didn't make many errors either and have a big serve.

LuckyR