PDA

View Full Version : 1hbh ts: more depth, less effort?

ananda
10-03-2007, 08:35 PM
pls correct me if i am wrong here.
i have been playing for 2.5 months and i think i have a decent consistent 2hbh (i am not referring to slices at all in this thread). i mean TS and Flat drives.
However, there are 2 observations i had about my stroke:
1. occasionally not getting depth on shot (praps due to missing sweetspot)
2. the 2hbh really takes a lot of effort/energy.

so recently, i started trying out the 1hbh ts/drive. although i am still learning the stroke, i find i get gr8 depth on it, and its almost effortless (i mean no energy expended!)

Am i correct in these 2 observations: less energy expended on 1hbh, and better depth ?

in case you want to know a little more, i could be missing the sweetspot on the 2hbh cos i don't get to practice it much. my partner just likes to do fh to fh rallies. as far as the 1hbh is concerned i do admit that some go into the net, but most hit the baseline or go slightly beyond, but then i have barely started. (i use the ps 6.0 95 stock.)

Geezer Guy
10-04-2007, 06:01 AM
I'm no expert on the 2hbh, but seems to me the 2-hander is hit with a shorter stroke. The 1-hander has more take-back and follow-through, so more momentum (less effort). If you hit the 1hbh with good form and technique, you can get good pace and spin on the ball with minimal effort.

harleywilson
10-04-2007, 07:45 AM
The 1hbh is a more difficult shot because it depends on timing and footwork. Pick one and stay with it. I could never hit a 2 hander for some reason

smoothtennis
10-04-2007, 08:04 AM
Cool that you are trying both now at 2.5. That is the time to try a few options out.

I used a 2 hander until I hit 3.5, and I had the same feeling. A lot of effort hitting the 2hbh, and it just didn't quite feel 'comfortable'. I admit, I didn't really know a lot about the technique involved to hit a good one. I did some things wrong I know now.