PDA

View Full Version : Do you understand what Tricky is talking about?

BeHappy
10-04-2007, 05:02 AM
This is in no way a slight at tricky, but I genuinely can't understand what he's talking about because he has invented a lot of terminology/jargon that I have never heard before.I'm just wondering if I'm alone?

fantom
10-04-2007, 05:32 AM
I was going to say the same thing a few days ago. His understanding of proper stokes is obviously good, but he uses too many musculo-skeletal words. We're tennis players, not physical therapists!!!

smoothtennis
10-04-2007, 08:42 AM
I understand Tricky's terms because I took the time to really get out the racket, and observe what is happening in my strokes. At first, I didn't understand some of the terms, or concepts I'll admit.

I studied martial arts for 5 years, and at least in our school, we slowly discected all the physcial and structural elements that produce the power in stiking, blocks and postures. Joint positions, where the weight is balanced, where the weight transfers, where the elbows are placed for optimal structural integrity, etc. It is slow, it takes time and observation, and work.

With this background in another sport, then, I was able to see what Tricky was describing. Then I started feeling what he was describing, such as the pre-stretch going on in the forearm during the initiation of the forward movement in the forehand. Some lightbulbs started going off.

I have retooled my forehand, and I am amazed at the results honestly. It has taken my game to a new level - I genuinely mean that too. I owe a great portion of that to Tricky and EricW, whom I corresponded with on these threads to work out some of these concepts. Hey, as a result, I am planning on playing 4.5 in my next tournament, so I'll see where that takes me.

I also have many years behind me on examining strokes, technique, and so I was primed to hear what he was saying.

Tricky - a big thanks from over here bro!

ananda
10-04-2007, 09:17 AM