PDA

View Full Version : k90 ideas for more power & spin?

jeremy6044
10-09-2007, 03:54 PM
i know this has been covered a million times, but we all experiment and try new set-ups. right now i have two in my k90s:

#1: luxilon 17g mains, NXT 16g crosses @ 49/51

#2: NXT 16g mains, luxilon 17g crosses @ 51/49

it's my first time trying hybrids and i have to say that (to my surprise) the first set-up is much much better than the second. the first one has tons of spin, the perfect amount of power, and plenty of control. the second set-up has more power, but much less spin...the ball just rockets.

(note: everything above that tension has been like a board to me...not enough power and dead feeling. also of note: i'm a baseliner who hits hard and throough the ball with moderate of topspin.)

even though i love the first set-up, the NXTs are being sliced by the lux, so i need to improve that situation somehow. i don't want to lose the extra power by going all poly, but i'm afraid of just using a more durable synthetic in place of NXT, too....will it help that much?

what do you use?

smittysan89
10-09-2007, 11:46 PM
Why not use a syn gut in the crosses and move the tension up a little bit?

jeremy6044
10-10-2007, 08:12 AM
nooooo way with moving the tension up. i've tried too many string jobs with higher tensions....59, 54, 53...they all felt horrible. anyway, why would higher tension help the strings...i would think that would make it worse.

how much would a syn gut in the crosses help...a lot or a little?

saram
10-10-2007, 09:55 AM
i know this has been covered a million times, but we all experiment and try new set-ups. right now i have two in my k90s:

it's my first time trying hybrids and i have to say that (to my surprise) the first set-up is much much better than the second. the first one has tons of spin, the perfect amount of power, and plenty of control. the second set-up has more power, but much less spin...the ball just rockets.