PDA

View Full Version : My Groundstrokes *VIDEO*

jasoncho92
10-10-2007, 04:17 PM
Well i fixed some stuff and i know i have to do more of a torso twist on my forehand but im wondering what i have to improve now.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=Fcp_CLC1Agg

And i took off the times when we go and pick up balls but i somehow missed the longest one :confused: so just skip 10 seconds when you get to it. And ive been playing for 7 months so i know i need more experience as well

Taimur
10-10-2007, 09:34 PM
Hi Jason,
I'm a bit of a rookie myself ( over a year and a half). My coach, Sir Mahboob, gave me some great advice for generating more bite on the forehand drive.
1.Try bringing your left( non-hitting arm) back with the rest of the upper-body during the backswing, like both arms are a single unit. Essentially, it makes you bring the shoulders into play more, and drastically increases the pace and accuracy on the forehand. On the follow-through, the entire set (arms, shoulders) unwind naturally.
Your follow-through looks pretty good, but then again i really lack enough know-how to be trusted on this tip.
2. He also mentioned the importance of hitting a high-low-high forehand for more top-spin, though yours seems to fit this bill pretty well anyway.
Nice video though...(oh yeah, a good knee bend, like your going to sit on a chair while coiling up for the forehand helped me alot too, though this probably factors more in clay-court tennis)
Hope this helps......(by the way, the forehand is my favorite stroke, especially if i manage to hit an inside-out shot successfully)

10isfun
10-10-2007, 09:43 PM
7months???
you look pretty good for only 7months, that is some awesome progress man!
and i agree with the 1st tip above

for your backhand i would say put ur head down so u can see the ball and through the ball
g'luck!

Punisha
10-11-2007, 02:56 AM