PDA

View Full Version : Need help purchasing a computer.

ibemadskillzz
11-13-2004, 03:44 PM
To all of computer geniuse. I'm new to computers. I am about to purchase a new computer. I'm not sure which one to buy. I'm probably going to purchase a AMD Athlon XP. Should I purchase a Hewlett packard or Compaq presario? They both have the same stuff inside, but I'm not sure which one is better. And which one is the best out of these: Intel Pentium 4, Intel Celeron, AMD 64, AMD Athlon XP? can someone put those in order from the best to the worst? Thanks
And please give reasons if you pick Compaq or HP.
thanks in advance.

perfmode
11-13-2004, 03:50 PM
Neither. Don't buy one from a vendor. Config one @ www.newegg.com or something.

jun
11-13-2004, 09:41 PM
If you don't really know too much about computer it might not be a bad idea to purshase from a big company. They do seem to have good warranty and tech support (of course, the waiting time is always too long). I recommend Dell personally.

tennis-n-sc
11-14-2004, 02:32 PM
Depends a lot on what you intend to use it for. Jun has some good advice but you sound a little unfamilar with the termnologies. I would find a larger company and talk with one of the consultants. Another consideration is how much do you want to spend. All t hings being equal, I would get the least costly machine that met my needs. I have found Dell to be very informative about listening to what I want and making recommendations. Whatever you get, it will be outdated in with better, cheaper models in two years. Good luck.

jayserinos99
11-14-2004, 07:25 PM
i'd only go with a big name brand if i were to purchase a laptop. for desktops, i'd go with the route perfmode stated earlier and go to a nice online site like newegg. one thing i like about newegg is their return policy and also their wishlist. you can create a list of parts you need for your computer.