PDA

View Full Version : Getting a tennis book.

Bundey
10-15-2007, 07:53 PM
Okay, I want to get some instructional books on tennis. I am thinking about 'Winning Ugly', since it is so popular. I want to know what is in 'Winning Ugly' though. Does it tell you how to construct point, the mental aspects or what? I want a book that focuses on the mental part of the game, shows little tips that you can use in a match, and shows how to contruct winning points. Please recommend me books, and explain what is in the context of the book, thanks. :grin:

tzinc
10-15-2007, 11:10 PM
I am new to tennis and wanted to get the best instructional book for a beginner. What do you suggest thanks!

lkdog
10-15-2007, 11:17 PM
I am new to tennis and wanted to get the best instructional book for a beginner. What do you suggest thanks!

Tennis Mastery by David Smith is quite good.

Another option is to subscribe to TennisOne or HiTEch Tennis websites for a year.
Both great pay sites.

Fuzzy Yellow Balls is a great free site.

origmarm
10-16-2007, 01:48 AM
Winning Ugly is more about mental strategies (how to prepare yourself mentally and deal with situations on court) and overall game strategies i.e. how to adapt your game to each player. It does not feature point construction strategies. That said I would very much recommend it, I feel that 75% of tennis is mental.

I have ordered Tennis Mastery and am waiting for it to arrive now so I'll give you an update then if you want but it may be a week or so. The author of the book is on this board (ID is TennisMastery) and you can ask him questions about the book. It comes recommended from many on this board also. From what I understand this book covers technique, drills and also mental and point construction. The author was very helpful when I contacted him.

I believe there is a sticky at the top of this page that features books also.

PimpMyGame
10-16-2007, 01:58 AM