PDA

View Full Version : Which string to string with before my tournament?

crazy8tiger
10-18-2007, 03:38 PM
-I have my first tournament coming up and I'm still using the Synthetic Gut 16g on my Liquidmetal Radical.
-Do you guys think I should restring before a tournament to stay safe or does restringing before give me more of a risk of breaking them?
-And, if yes to the above question, what string do you recommend for some control/ball pocketing, but with a mix of a good amount of power?

theace21
10-18-2007, 04:31 PM
I wouldn't try out a different string before a tournament.

If you have an extra racket, I might just play with and if it breaks use the other. Depends on if you are a string breaker...Is the string about to go? How often do you break strings?

crazy8tiger
10-18-2007, 05:03 PM
This is my "first" racquet and I've been using it for a few months now. They are Head Synthetic Gut 16g strung at around 56 lbs and so far they haven't broke from the day I got them. The string still feels pretty tight and don't look they are very near breaking point. But I'm not an expert at strings so I'm not sure if I should restring it so I have some fresh ones.

aeroman
10-18-2007, 05:33 PM
If you get it restrung I wouldn't restring it with a different string before a tournament. I wouldn't restring it right before a tournament if it doesn't look like it's going to break. Then you'd have to adjust to the new tension. I'd just stay with it and maybe restring it after the tournament.
Aeroman

lilxjohnyy
10-18-2007, 08:16 PM
dont restring .... if ur not use to ur new string it could throw u off ... dont restring . one time i was using my kfactors ... brokes strings in both had to use a different string and didnt play well

IanRichardson
10-18-2007, 08:35 PM