PDA

View Full Version : When is a person ready to really play tennis?

SBGirl
10-18-2007, 05:02 PM
Hi,

I’m a tennis newbie – I have always wanted to learn to play and recently started taking group lessons through my city’s parks and rec. dept. I am very much enjoying it and about 5 weeks into the 8 week beginner session. Lessons are once a week for an hour, and I’ve been trying to practice a couple of hours a week on whatever we’ve learned (working girl here, not endless time available to practice). The tennis instructor is focusing on having us perform the different strokes properly (and with follow through) and is always telling us when we’re rallying that it’s fine if the ball bounces more than once before we get to it, or if we miss, etc. because he’d rather have us take the time to do the stroke correctly than have us running for the ball and swinging without proper form. I completely understand the focus on learning technique.