PDA

View Full Version : Noob needing help

mcpon
10-19-2007, 04:07 PM
How would you hit a forehand topspin with the continental grip? I'm a noob so I wouldn't know.

TheShaun
10-19-2007, 04:18 PM
not very easily! are you taking lessons? perhaps it's a little early to even be thinking about topspin.

Seifersquall1
10-19-2007, 06:26 PM
I wouldn't do topspin on the continental grip. If you want heavy topspin, then use the western grip. Just brush the ball to get topspin :D

mcpon
10-20-2007, 01:11 AM
not very easily! are you taking lessons? perhaps it's a little early to even be thinking about topspin.

Well, I've taken PE tennis classes in college but that's about it. I could hit the forehand topspin with semi-western grip but not continental. I'm used to continental because it seems the easiest or the most comfortable, and I use it for the backhand (bh is mostly slice which I'm trying to get out of the habit of) but I'm just kind of tired of having to switch grips for backhand and forehand. With the forehand continental, I could hit some kind of a diagonal-spin (or whatever) but it doesn't seem to have much kick to it like a top-spin.

Messarger
10-20-2007, 03:20 AM
You should not be tired switching grips. Use your non master hand to help you. I'll assume its your left. So after you hit a groundstroke, espeically forehand, catch your racket and use your left hand to hold the racket firm. Firm enough to allow your right hand to be able to move to any bevel you want. This way you wont put unnecessary stress by using 1 hand to change grips.

mcpon
10-21-2007, 03:13 AM
You should not be tired switching grips. Use your non master hand to help you. I'll assume its your left. So after you hit a groundstroke, espeically forehand, catch your racket and use your left hand to hold the racket firm. Firm enough to allow your right hand to be able to move to any bevel you want. This way you wont put unnecessary stress by using 1 hand to change grips.