PDA

View Full Version : [H]Choosing A Racquet

In)SpiRe
10-20-2007, 04:54 PM
Hi, im new to forums so if i do something wrong plz correct me.

But more to the point, I bought a kfactor (the one federer uses) and found it to be a bit too much for me and my hands. Im a varsity freshman, i work out, and the weights in different racquets are no prob (i can handle pretty much any racquet weight). Its not that i cant hit anything with it, its just that i dont feel like i can use it to its fullest potential. Im looking for a racquet that will help my game, and help to get to the level where i can compete with higher level people, and eventually move back up to my kfactor.
I am a baseline, topspin, power, groundstrokes type of player, im not sure about my NTRP rating (but i do believe its about 4.0-4.5), i go up to net only when i feel i can, and note that i am not really good net (in my opinion). If i get an easy shot to my face or something, i do put it away, but sometimes the passing shots are really difficult for me to get back over the net into a hard position for the other player. So i need a racquet that i can move around quickly for those passing shots. I have a one handed backhand and am looking to improve it, but im also looking for a racquet that will give my hands a little break (i got 3 blisters using the kfactor even with another grip on).
I am NOT a beginner and have been playing for years, but i really do feel like i can be so much better if i can use a racquet to fit my playing style.
Any help or suggestions will be appreciated :) .

Shashwat
10-20-2007, 04:58 PM
K95, sounds like you just need a bigger headsize.

In)SpiRe
10-20-2007, 05:08 PM
I would but $190 is a bit steep T.T
I dont mind if u suggest other brands though, or just other racquets.

Shashwat
10-20-2007, 05:18 PM
You can trade your K90 for a K95 on the boards here. Or general player frames i suggest are:

Dunlop Aerogel 200
Tecnifibre T-fight 320
Yonex RDS 001 MP