PDA

View Full Version : How do you hit a kick serve?

chuckmckool
10-24-2007, 08:33 PM
I'm pretty new to the game, I can kind of hit a kick serve, and occasionally it is good. Trying to make it consistent.

10s talk
10-24-2007, 08:42 PM
hit up on the ball, and move your contact point back.

nousername
10-24-2007, 09:39 PM
yes, try to hit up on it.

you can imagine you are trying to "chop" it from underneath like with an axe, while doing so, try to "brush" up the back of the ball. you should lead with the edge of the racquet, but you still should be reaching high for full extension. try to make first contact at the very back of the ball, and as you are hitting it pronate your wrist and try to rotate the racquet face up and over the ball. the ball should be almost straight overhead, but slightly into the court.

In D Zone
10-24-2007, 10:04 PM
here is a video clip

http://youtube.com/watch?v=nNvD7-KbcEA

CAM178
10-24-2007, 10:12 PM
I'll tell you what I was told when I asked about this serve as a junior: don't do this serve until your shoulder and back are ready for it. It is a surefire way to tear muscles, and destroy the joint.

It will come in time. Strengthen your shoulder and back by practicing regular serves and overheads. Master a normal serve first, and then move to the kick serve. My opinion is that nobody below a 3.5 should even consider a kick serve. Nobody should start to work on that seriously until at least the 4.0 level.

desilvam
10-24-2007, 11:15 PM
I am with Cam178 on this.. Stay away from a kick / american twist serve unless you want to be a pro, or play at the college level.

Kick serve is very tough on the back and shoulders.

For now, keep your serve simple and smooth. When your overall game reaches the 4.0-4.5 level, then you will be ready to use it more often.

sapient007
10-25-2007, 07:51 AM