PDA

View Full Version : Laver and Connors in 1975

krosero
11-20-2007, 11:46 PM
Enjoy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SptdffCeVmM

Has anyone seen the whole of this match?

urban
11-21-2007, 05:51 AM
Thanks, Krosero, great stuff. I can remember to have seen parts of it on German TV. Laver came from a half year lay off and a knee operation, to play the match in February 1975. He had problems to climb really into the match, but after losing the opening sets, he made a real close match of it. If you can put other highlight clips on you tube, like some from the Laver-Newcombe match, it would be fantastic, Krosero. Sadly, i am no internet expert and don't know myself to do it.

krosero
11-21-2007, 06:02 AM
Thanks, Krosero, great stuff. I can remember to have seen parts of it on German TV. Laver came from a half year lay off and a knee operation, to play the match in February 1975. He had problems to climb really into the match, but after losing the opening sets, he made a real close match of it. If you can put other highlight clips on you tube, like some from the Laver-Newcombe match, it would be fantastic, Krosero. Sadly, i am no internet expert and don't know myself to do it.I just might do that. I'm working my way slowly through a list. So this match was on German TV -- an international event, then (beyond U.S. and Australia, I mean).

urban
11-21-2007, 06:54 AM
The match was one of the big tennis boom matches of the 70s, after the Riggs-King Bonanza in 1973 and the Rosewall-Laver match in 1972. It put tennis on the map. They made these challenge matches at Las Vegas, officially as winner-take-all matches, but unoffically both got their money. Connors' old mentor, Bill Riordan, a former boxing promoter, had advised Jimbo, after the Forest Hills final in 74, to murmur in front of the cameras: "Get me Laver". He hadn't played Laver before.