PDA

View Full Version : Time allowed between points???


tennissavy
12-04-2007, 10:34 AM
Through the years, tv commentators have stated that the receiver is allowed 25 seconds between points to collect him/her self. However, they have also stated 20 seconds, and 15 seconds and some have stated that the receiver must be ready when the server is ready. I looked it up on usta website and it states that although the receiver should be ready at the pace of the server, the receiver is allowed 20 seconds. Now, I don't know what the actual rule is since rules change... What do you think is the truth?

feelingdown
12-04-2007, 07:59 PM
I've heard 25 seconds, during several of Nadal's matches, is the time allowed the player receiving serve.

chess9
12-05-2007, 02:12 AM
A rule more honored in its breach.

-Robert

tennissavy
12-06-2007, 11:01 AM
So, no one knows?

rommil
12-06-2007, 12:13 PM
20 as far as I recall. I think Mary Pierce and Nadal know for sure.

richw76
12-06-2007, 12:18 PM
20 as far as I recall. I think Mary Pierce and Nadal know for sure.

I think ALTA is 25 sec., USTA is 20 sec. Don't have my rule book with me. I think chess has it right.

tennis-n-sc
12-06-2007, 12:19 PM
It is 20 seconds unless a justifiable delay occurs, such as retrieving a ball. The time used to be 25 seconds. The receiver will play at the reasonable pace of the server. The time between points is virtually ignored in professional matches, However, at officiated adult and junior tournaments as well as college matches, a penalty may be assessed for delay.

jmsx521
12-07-2007, 12:53 PM
If you ask Ivanisevic and Safin, it would be more like 5 sec.

TnTBigman
12-07-2007, 12:58 PM
20 secs or server's pace. i have heard of up to 30 secs between pts.

tennissavy
01-02-2008, 04:02 PM
Watching the Hopman Cup last night I heard that the receiver is allowed 25 seconds!