PDA

View Full Version : How Long After an Interview...

Reveille1984
12-04-2007, 02:11 PM
... Does it usually take to be contacted, for either good or bad reasons?

I'm a recent college grad, and I had an interview with an educational research company last Thursday for a position (kind of a small office, about 15 employees) and I thought it went very, very smoothly. I was interviewed by the Senior V.P. for nearly 30 minutes and was very on top of things and intelligent with my responses; she even became comfortable and started making smalltalk with me about her daughter and how I remind her of one of her old friends. I then did the same thing with the V.P. who interviewed me afterwards. I also wrote two thank you letters to them both and mailed them out the next day (Friday).

It's now Tuesday afternoon, and my super confident attitude is slowly being replaced by doubts as the days go by lol. I'm kind of figuring that if they were interested they would have let me know by now since it's such a tiny company, but most people are telling me not to call until at least a week has gone by. I guess the one fault I had was not asking about the follow-up process. What's the best way to go about this?

raiden031
12-04-2007, 02:15 PM
I have had numerous interviews and some have told me during the interview that they were making an offer, and others it took 1-3 days. One time I got a rejection notice in the mail the next day, and once or twice I never heard back from them. It really varies based on the company and their needs. I would suggest calling them back maybe tomorrow or the next day and ask what the status is.

10s talk
12-04-2007, 02:57 PM
you never know, a lot of people don't even have the decency to contact you.

jmsx521
12-04-2007, 06:06 PM
In my experience most of the corporatists are ignorant, and don't bother to return your call to let you know what happened, because if you are not valuable to them then it's just waste of time and money for them to show decency.