PDA

View Full Version : Why change?

BMG
01-12-2008, 07:29 AM
I've been posting here for about 4 months and have enjoyed very much the feedback and experiences of everyone regarding their search & choices of frames. Also posts by Jo11yRoger, NoBadMojo, Craig Clark, drakulie, etc. have been very informative and sometimes pretty funny. What is puzzling is the way people seem to want to change frames so often (and I am tempted on occassion, too). There is currently a huge buzz about the MG Prestige..everyone wants to demo/buy one when they come out. What is wrong with their current stick? Why is a racquet switch so important? (obviously the racquet is important, but I am not a believer that it will "change your game" in most cases; especially if you have been using the same stick for a while). People flock to buy the nCode 95 but as soon as the k95 comes out the big buzz starts and people are switching. I know that the racquet companies love this, but are racquets truly becoming "better" with each revision? I am using, and like, the LM Prestige MP. I have tried the FXP Prestige and the BB 11 and really like them both. I played well with them and especially liked the comfort of the Becker. But is that enough to totally change racquets after years with the same frame? I know that I am ranting a bit, but I just don't think people spend enough time working on their game (and even string setups) but rather focus on the "next best thing" in racquet technology. There are specs for every player out there already. Well built sticks at good prices. Why spend almost $200/frame and risk taking a step back in your game by always attempting to improve via the racquet?

PackardDell
01-12-2008, 07:34 AM
Question is wat matters more. Specs or tech? I believe in specs and therefore won't easily update my frame (currently lm prestige mp)

TonyB
01-12-2008, 07:35 AM