PDA

View Full Version : What Racquet Should I Switch to?

Tennis Darren
01-29-2008, 07:45 PM
Right now I'm using the Babolat Pure Drive Roddick. I've found that it is too much power and not as much control as I'd like. I think that this racquet is for 3.5/4.0 or younger players that don't generate as much power and racquet speed. It worked just fine when I was younger, however, I no longer need the additional power. I'm really looking for a "player's" racquet (around 4.5-5.5) that has a stiffer frame and is heavier, seeing as how I can generate my own racquet speed now. Not exactly how to describe it... it just feels more solid ya know? lol :???:

Some racquets that I like are: the Babolat Pure Control, and the Head Liquidmetal Prestige. Any other suggestions? Thanks

p.s. I'm by no means a tennis expert and am not 100% sure of what I'm talking about lol:)

quest01
01-29-2008, 08:42 PM
There are 5.0-6.0 players who use the PDR or the Pure Drive cortex. I don't see how this racket is only designed for young people when there are pros who use the Pure Drive and 5.0 players.

lilxjohnyy
01-29-2008, 08:50 PM
also stiffer frame means more power

THSBOI
01-29-2008, 08:59 PM
Idk try pure storm tour+. You should really try to demo rackets you think thats good for you lol. Or if your friends have the rackets you like you should try them before you get people advice because they dont know what kind of grip you use and etc. Or at least post what kind of player you are agressive baseliner all round and etc. And what kind of grip you use. And the last "or" is to go to golf smith on a specific day i heard they can find a racket thats good for you by the way you swing unless you dont have a ********* nearby.

kairosntx
01-29-2008, 09:04 PM
When you demo some racquets (not if!) try out the Dunlop AG 200. I'd try the 18x20 for more control. Before you invest money into some new sticks, taking a few for a test drive is a must IMO.