PDA

View Full Version : learning to play tennis...

__jt__
12-18-2004, 01:36 PM
did you or do you get tennis lessons? if not, how did u learn to play tennis?

PrestigeClassic
12-18-2004, 01:56 PM
I went to my local park and participated in tennis clinics with other players around my ability level. A clinic is where one coach is matched with about six players; it's basically a one-on-six lesson where you participate in drills and games. I've had maybe four one-on-one lessons in 12 years. Maybe that's why I'm not a pro, hmm. Tennis lessons are definitely a good use of your time and effort granted you have the money to pay for them. Other than that, I watched tennis on television and read Tennis and picked up on mechanics while doing that.

Trey
12-18-2004, 02:43 PM
First went out and hit when i was like 14 with no instruction at all. Did that for about a year. I then took like 6 private lessons with my brother where i was taught basic grips and classic style swing and serve at about age 15. Then I just played all the time for about 2 years.

After a 15 year break I started playing again regularly about 2 years ago. Before I started competitive play I paid $45-50/hr for lessons. They weren't worth it IMO. I found studying technique on my own through internet/books, video and practicing these techniques much more valuable and much less costly.

bigserving
12-18-2004, 05:53 PM
Never had a lesson. I Started playing with a friend when we found it difficult to get enough people to play basketball, baseball, or football.

!<-_->!
12-18-2004, 06:47 PM
Never took a lesson at all. Just played and watched pros in an attempt to emmulate. Upon failure of emmulation, I would just mess around with what I saw to make it work and feel comfortable.

Kirko
12-21-2004, 05:05 PM
Lessons, from 14 yr. onward. from some very good people. Iwas fortunate. My biggest helper outside of that was the practice wall would hit it for hours .

Stormwolf
12-29-2004, 12:45 PM