PDA

View Full Version : Who's call is it?


twocents
03-22-2004, 09:35 AM
We were playing the biggest point of the match in a tournament against the CURRENT champs Saturday. We were serving. My partner serves. No immediate call was made if in or out. The return goes wide. The receiver THEN says to his partner I thought it was out. The receivers parter then says the ball was out. The ball was defintely not wide. I told the receiver's partner it was his call to make if "long or not" and that the receiver calls wide balls. The receiver's partner did not make the call of being long until the ball went wide and the receiver then tells him he thought the ball was long. He gives me the finger and then it got really ugly. I thought if the receivers partner doesn't call the long ball immediately the point is over. Any feedback would be great. I want to have a hard copy to show him he's wrong. He's the same guy that yells second serve each time we have to hit a second serve and yells back, back,back, back,back every time you miss a serve. THANKS

kreative
03-22-2004, 10:58 AM
i don't have hard copy rules, but i think either or can make the call if the ball was out. if no immediate call has been made after the bounce, the ball is considered good imo. if the receiving side is questionable about a call ("i thought it was out"), after he struck the ball, they should give the serving side the benefit of the doubt. i mean, if he hit a return winner, do you think he'd be questioning the call? lolz. "i thought it was out" means that he wasn't sure that it was out, else he'd say "it was out".

you could also say that if his return shot was in, that you replay the point, or that if his return was out, then it's your point. good luck.

kevhen
03-22-2004, 11:01 AM
They can't change their call once their return has crossed the plane of the net. At this point it becomes your call and you called the ball wide. It's not fun playing against players like that as I am sure they are going to argue it to death. But they need to call your serve long or wide before their return crosses the plane of the net.

Bungalo Bill
03-22-2004, 12:12 PM
Sounds like he did call it out whether it was long or wide. He thought it was out and turned to his partner for varification. I would have to dig up the code, but I dont think there is any set rule on who calls the shot out.

Sometimes close out calls are hard to make and it is a judgement call.

Normally, if players were showing good etiquette the "unwritten" rule is, if you didnt see it out it was in.

But apparantely your playing with people that probably dont follow that rule. :)

Camilio Pascual
03-22-2004, 12:31 PM
The key word here is "thought." The moment the receiver said he "thought" it was out, the ball is good. There must be no doubt to call it out. BB, if you are consulting with somebody else for "verification" you have made your team ineligible to call the ball out, since you have doubt. There is a written rule about this in "The Code." Either player may call any served ball out, long or wide, that is irrelevant to the question. What they did do was to give themselves a "second chance" by delaying the call. Saturday night, I called a ball that was about 4" out "OUT." My partner, who is very inexperienced, called it "good" for some reason, even though she was unsighted. I changed my call to "good" to the perplexion of our opponents, who had seen it go out.

Bungalo Bill
03-22-2004, 06:33 PM
I understand where your coming from Camilio but I also will disagree with you only on one area. the person thought the ball was out he didnt think the ball was good. He just verified it with his partner. no one is perfect out there and there has to be some room for assistance for the right call to be made. If the partner didnt see the ball that is a different story then I beleive you must play by the unwritten rule as I stated above "if you didnt see it out then it was in".

Sometimes I play opponents that have such a big serve that I will ask assistance from my partner so I know I made the right call and I am not hooking my opponent. If we both dont know, we play it as if it was in. But if I am asking for clarification and my partner says he saw it out - sorry it was out.

Even in pro matches the umpire can override a call if he saw it out or in - even when the linesman saw it good or out.

In this case, the team calling the shot has every right to make the call right before the next serve is hit whether it is in the favor of them or their opponents.

Cypo
03-22-2004, 10:53 PM
Check out "Cheats you've played" from the old board.

http://talk.tennis-warehouse.com/discussions?7@114.F6eqaUB5GPc^29@.eebd955/27

The bottom line was a ball can be called out as long as it's in play but before the opponent has hit it. I HATE it when this happens - but there's little you can do.

kreative
03-22-2004, 11:08 PM
so both the receiver and the receiver's partner see the serve, but no one calls it "out", then after the receiver hits a return that lands out, stops and says to his partner that he thinks the serve was out and his partner confirms. if they both thought it was out, why didn't either call it when the ball landed out of the service box? they were both unsure, so i think they should have given the opponents the benefit of the doubt if you were sure of the call, and called it out, while your partner changed you call and called it in, if the return was in, you could replay the point, and if the return was out, it would be the server's point. most times thou, questionable calls are just replayed.

twocents
03-23-2004, 06:57 AM
I thought the receiver calls wide balls and his partner standing on the service line calls long balls. The ball was definitely not wide and the guy on the service line never made the call. The receiver after his return went wide told the guy on the service line he thought it was long. Again the guy on the service line never made the call. Is there an official rule concerning who makes the wide and who makes the long call? Thanks for all your replies. I want to show this guy your replies.

Bungalo Bill
03-23-2004, 08:55 AM
You have a right to change a call before the next serve happens. You can overrule your previous call if you believe you made the wrong call. Now keep in mind, some people may not like it, but the call can go to either ones benefit.

There is no written rule that one player only calls one line and other partner takes the other line. This tennis ettiquette is simply on the court when there is no linesman. However, if my partner does not call a ball out and goes to hit the return and I call it out, I dont give ahoot about ettiquette, I am making the right call for that serve. the other team can argue all they want, if I saw it out it was out.

The other issue I find with this rediculous rule is if you call all the lines in singles why not doubles? What makes doubles so unique? Did the service box get bigger? If you follow my logic on this, the partner can wait for the his returner to make the call for long and wide balls. If he is unsure, his partner can certainly step in and make his own call. There is no reason why he cant correct the call from his position even on a wide ball.

Again if it was real close and hard to tell for BOTH of them, point goes to the server.

kreative
03-23-2004, 10:51 AM
You have a right to change a call before the next serve happens.

bill, you may want to clarify, from the context of what you stated, one could play the point, then if you lost the point before the opponents next serve, say "hey, your last serve was out"

However, if my partner does not call a ball out and goes to hit the return and I call it out, I dont give ahoot about ettiquette, I am making the right call for that serve.

only if the returner thought the ball was out as well. if he thought it was in, the receiving team should either give the serving team the benefit of the doubt, and if the return was in, replay the point, if the return was out, server's point. in most cases thou, replaying the point regardless is good etiquette imo.

again, i believe that either player on the receiving team can make the call, whether wide or long.

Bungalo Bill
03-23-2004, 11:33 AM
Kreative,

Your right! My fault. that was not very clear. In my haste to answer I made a wording error. I called a good coaching friend of mine who is a rules guru for clarification.

Here is the bottom-line and what I am trying to say. The recievers partner has every right to call a ball out that is wide or is long. There are no rules for this. The returning partner has every right to ask for judgement from his partner for the correct call. It is not solely on one person in doubles to make a call.

A returner can make a call after he hits the return back. That is perfectly legal. So long as it is reasonable in time. Once you make the call it stands.

If both players didnt see the ball out, it should be played as if it was in.

joebedford
03-27-2004, 01:23 PM
Is it too late for me to call an "out" on that forehand winner Eddie Ledford hit in 1989? :lol: