PDA

View Full Version : Sampras forehand round the net


laurie
02-16-2008, 12:20 PM
This one's courtesy of JSnapple

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ta_Cpg70ZWo

Enjoy

yourmom08
02-16-2008, 01:27 PM
thats one nervous ballboy

nickb
02-16-2008, 01:32 PM
Nice video..thanks for posting..

AznHylite
02-16-2008, 02:23 PM
Wow, amazing. I'm speechless =_=

wlinchon
03-01-2008, 05:34 PM
Is that shot good? I mean, doesn't it have to go over the net and land in to be a winner? No matter how many times I look at the clip, I still can't understand.

him88002
03-01-2008, 05:49 PM
Dude it doesn't have to go over the net it just has to land in.

Zhou
03-01-2008, 06:05 PM
Is that shot good? I mean, doesn't it have to go over the net and land in to be a winner? No matter how many times I look at the clip, I still can't understand.

Well he got the point didn't he?
And they called it a winner...

jasoncho92
03-01-2008, 06:11 PM
Is that shot good? I mean, doesn't it have to go over the net and land in to be a winner? No matter how many times I look at the clip, I still can't understand.
Its a legal shot.

aceroberts13
03-01-2008, 07:04 PM
I'm guessing that cross court is not an option there?

TENNIS_IS_FUN
03-01-2008, 07:29 PM
He hits the winner. Doesn't hit the ball kid. Avoids hitting the umpire chair. Jumps over the chairs. GG.

kimbahpnam
03-01-2008, 09:15 PM
reminded me of this shot. though not the same, still very good

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9zKwqGYCNvY

quest01
03-01-2008, 10:45 PM
Its too bad for Philippoussis in that match because he was up a set and had a good chance in beating Sampras until he had to retire due to an injury.

What about the pigeon killer shot

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WU-y8kAsr8Q&feature=related

wlinchon
03-03-2008, 06:02 AM
Dude it doesn't have to go over the net it just has to land in.

My apologies for my ignorance. I know that that shot is now history but, for example, let's say that someone serves a shot that is extremely wide (with a wicked kicking slice). All I have to do is return it straight down, regardless of the height of the net, and have it land in to make it a winner? Why have I been trying to get it over the net then?

And what if the court has the length of the net slightly longer that the width of the court, post to post? Then some courts would be 'easier' to hit winners, wouldn't they? Are there rules as to how long the net should be?

Again, my apologies. I just really want to know.

VGP
03-03-2008, 07:32 AM
Technically, the rule is the net posts have to be three feet outside the sideline. For exclusively singles play, the net is placed within where the doubles alleys are. Around the net post shots are more possible in singles play that way.

The same would therefore go for doubles play where the net posts are placed outside the doubles sideline. Around the net post shots are possible too when the court is "expanded" to include the doubles alleys.

laurie
03-03-2008, 08:49 AM
Actually talking about around the net post it reminds me of this incredible forehand winner from sampras - from a seemingly impossible deep position

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=-Gj8GFK-QiQ

It's the 4th point in the game.

Djokovicfan4life
03-03-2008, 09:14 AM
Its too bad for Philippoussis in that match because he was up a set and had a good chance in beating Sampras until he had to retire due to an injury.

What about the pigeon killer shot

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WU-y8kAsr8Q&feature=related

Haha, I just found that myself and I was about to post it. :)

notujoo
03-03-2008, 10:47 AM
GG speachles....

Roger Federer 95
03-03-2008, 06:13 PM
That was an awesome shot!

A.Davidson
03-04-2008, 05:30 AM
Great play.

Not so great hurdle over the chairs. :P

dr_punk
03-04-2008, 05:50 AM
that was great. thanks!

laurie
03-07-2008, 02:21 PM
Jsnapple has come up with another gem - check the last point in this clip.

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=a_l_XFUNl9k