PDA

View Full Version : Leaving PS 85... advice for the next racquet!

Fede
12-24-2004, 02:17 AM
Hi everybody, I'm a new user and would like to have your feedback about a racquet change.
I'm 32, I play 2/3 times a week, eastern forehand and backhand (one h.), good serve and volleys.
I have been using the Wilson PS 85 for the last 10 years, and I think is one of the best racquet ever made. As you already know it is excellent but too demanding.
I wish to change for something with a bigger sweetspot, but would retain the classic feeling and control.
I think the choice should be within these racquests:

Dunlop 200G
Head i.Prestige MAP
Volkl Tour 10 MP or C10
Yonex MP-1

What would you suggest? Have you others to include in the list?
I don't mid low power, but I would retain control, feel and a good weight.

Thanks, Fede

intense2b
12-24-2004, 05:02 AM
Thats easy...you are describing the wilson Ncode 6.1 90 inches. You should string this puppy only with gut.....for some reason this racquet performs better with gut than with any other string. I usually use a poly...but this racquet just performs better with gut.

Demo's dont workwith this racquet either because gut is way too expensive and therefore no demo's are strung with gut. I was forced to buy this racquet to truly playetest it. I strung it up with gut and I played about six sets with it. I found it to be the greatest serve and volley racquet that I have ever played with...however, I like my current stick better for my purposes....but if you like the 85 then the ncode 6.1 90 is your closest choice. That being said...want to buy my 6.1 its already strung with gut!

jjjosh
12-24-2004, 08:31 AM
intense2b,
if Fede is not interested in your ncode 90 I am if it still available, email me price and grip size
clockpillow@hotmail.com

Flatspin
12-24-2004, 08:45 AM