PDA

View Full Version : What is my best approach here?

BreakPtSi
03-02-2008, 01:09 PM
Let me see if I can be concise with this:

I have been playing for a little less than a year, mostly every day in the summer and a day or two a week since school started. I'd honestly say I'm pretty damn good for playing that amount of time.
I demoed the [k]surge and loved the feel and decided to buy it, with the same strings, the kgut 16's. I don't remember exact tensions, but I had it strung at the same poundage that the demo was originally at. When I started playing with my racket, I was unhappy to find it felt horrible. I couldn't get any power or feel whatsoever. About a month after, they started to feel better and have gotten great since.
Here's my problem..I have never had it restrung. This is my only racket. A few strings are nearly cut half way through due to biting and the section of strings in the sweet spot area is worn so much the fibers of the string are separating. it looks a little bit like ball fuzz (okay get your laughs out and keep reading) but it is translucent. High school practice starts this Friday and I'm afraid of both breaking the strings early into the season/tryouts but am also afraid of the loss of feel again if I get it restrung this close to the date.

I know I need a second frame, and am most likely going to get the Head extreme pro. But I don't know what tension to string that at, even if I bought it this week. Can anyone tell me where, for starters, I should restring the wilson? Once again, it was strung around August, kgut 16 strings, somewhere in the upper 50's. If you need any more info, ask.

Valjean
03-02-2008, 02:13 PM
It's probably better to get the same frame again.

You should have your racquet restrung at the middle of the racquet's tension range.

Why did you bite your string?

BreakPtSi
03-02-2008, 03:38 PM