PDA

View Full Version : How much does a racquet really affect play?

TennisNB
03-04-2008, 08:46 PM
Anyway so I'm relatively new to taking Tennis seriously and have found there is an entire science to this game. Now that I can see people take racquets so seriously, how much of a difference can there be in gameplay? I'm thinking the difference would only be noticeable among long time players who have mastered their swings and such and are now tweaking their gameplay, am I wrong? Right now I'm playing with a 40 dollar Head t.i Radical Elite. Are these kinds of racquets generally looked down upon or something because all the racquets that are being talked about on these forums are nowhere near 40 bucks.

Thanks,

doublefault2008
03-04-2008, 08:56 PM
A 200 dollar racket won't make you play better. It can be a major difference if you let it to be. Just pick a racket you like and stick with it. You'll do fine.

racquet_jedi
03-04-2008, 09:01 PM
"Cheaper" racquets, a.k.a. "Walmart" racquets, are generally looked down upon because of the low-end materials that are supposedly used to construct them...

$150+ racquets won't make you better, but that does not mean that it won't make some kind of difference in the way you play, whether it be a good one or a bad one...

BOZO
03-04-2008, 09:03 PM
I was beaten by Aluminium racquet with 45++ years old twice. he played like a pro.

Mansewerz
03-04-2008, 09:21 PM
A racquet will make a difference. I am still somewhat of a beginner (started last september) and i'm planning on getting a $76 racquet (LM instinct) because the investment is great, the specs are solid, and the price is unbeatable. I just need to demo it. I will grow into it as I get better. You have to get a racquet that suits your game style (i know, a problem at the beginner level, same problem for me), but you can get a racquet for $80 just as good as a $150+ racquet.

Kaptain Karl
03-04-2008, 09:25 PM