PDA

View Full Version : I want to string my own racquets, help

markwillplay
03-07-2008, 10:48 AM
What kind of stringer should I buy. I have never done it before but I really think I would like to be able to string my own racquets here at home and maybe some for others. I can usually learn things like this pretty quick. I don't want to spend tons of money for latest greatest. I just want to get a stringer that is fairly simple to learn on and that will hold up. I have no idea what to look for or buy.

YULitle
03-07-2008, 10:53 AM
markwillplay: Send me a PM and I'll try to help. :D

bronco_mba
03-07-2008, 10:54 AM
I'd also be interested in this information.

YULitle
03-07-2008, 11:11 AM
I'd also be interested in this information.

You can do the same. I have something to show the both of you that may help. :D

bronco_mba
03-07-2008, 11:17 AM
Happy to...but I'm not seeing your e-mail address to send a PM.

YULitle
03-07-2008, 11:36 AM
You should be able to click on my name and a pull down menu will appear. Click send email to YULitle. :D

bronco_mba
03-07-2008, 12:41 PM
It's not working for me. Can you send the information to mgbrown23@gmail.com?

YULitle
03-07-2008, 12:45 PM
I will gladly do so. I'd try and edit your email out though if I were you. :D

stringwalla
03-07-2008, 12:50 PM
The most important thing to have in my opinion is quality "fixed" (to the base) clamps. Avoid "floating" clamps.
You can do a fine job with drop weight tensioning with good technique. If I had to buy a machine for home use I would get a tabletop "lockout" (crank) tension head with a "fixed" clamping system.

Spend the extra, because a good quality machine can last forever and have good resale value if you give it up someday-

sruckauf
03-07-2008, 01:16 PM
I've been stringing racquets for over 15 years on the same Klippermate model. Rock solid, super cheap, and very accurate if you use it correctly.