PDA

View Full Version : Rotator Cuff Tendonitis/ Tennis Shoulder

Xuan121
02-21-2004, 06:08 AM
At practice yesterday ( Friday, Feb. 20), I was warming up for a practice doubles match, and I went for a big cut at the ball, and felt something happen to my shoulder. After resting for a bit, I decided to get back into action because I needed the practice. My first match of the season is on Monday (Friday, Feb. 23rd.). My high school team need me because I play doubles 1 position. :oops:

Has this happen to anyone before? This is my first time. Ater practice, I went home, didn't use my right arm at all, and put some iceyhot on it. It is feeling a but sore , and if I try to move it over my head, its hurt a bit.

Does anyone know when I can be back ont he court? HELP!!! thx.

polakosaur
02-21-2004, 01:55 PM
most likely your rotator cuff, rest up till the match and ask a school trainer for some rotator cuff exercises

Eug
02-25-2004, 07:22 PM
Hey there, I'm 21 and play first singles and doubles for my college team. Last year I had a very painful year. Same thing happened to me, during practice I went for an overhead and felt something click/pop in my shoulder. It was quite painful but I kept on playing. Didnt want to see the doctor cause I thought it would go away. Well, for the rest of the season i had to take drugs to kill the pain. Hardly could pick up a milk carton or open fridge door. During the summer I played off and on. The pain only got to me during the service motion, ground strokes were fine. 4 months later.......I finally went to doctor. I had tendonitis and bursitis in my shoulder. I stopped playing tennis over the winter break and im gonna play for the first time since the end of my college season on march 1st. I did my rehab with dumbellls and elastic bands. Really helped. So please go see a doctor. I still feel some of the pain till this day. Dont play on it till it heals! Trust me! Good luck and I hope you wont have to go through what I did.

Eug

Xuan121