PDA

View Full Version : Deadlift vs. Power Clean

cukoo
03-24-2008, 05:48 PM
My current routine is mainly based about the bench, squat, deadlift and pull up. For the bench squat and deadlift, I do 5 set of 5 reps.
I recently tried the deadlift for the first time last week and my lower back was really sore (the good type of sore) the next day. I did 3 set of 8 at 90lb. It's not a lot but I am quite new to weight training.
I recently learned about the power clean...can anyone tell me about this exercise. Is it better than the deadlift? Should I incorporate it into my routine? How will it help my tennis game?

Thanks

hewittfan3
03-24-2008, 06:14 PM
The power clean is the hardest workout there is in my opinion. It basically works every muscle you have and will get you dead tired in like 10 min. Its definnitely better for you than the deadlift. My old high school weights teacher told us that the deadlift was not the best excersice for us. I would definitely do that rather than deadlift

NotAtTheNet
03-24-2008, 06:22 PM
Deadlift and Power clean are fundamentally the 2 most pure lifts in weight lifting, simply bc of the amount of muscles involved and that it involves lifting a heavy weight from its static position on the floor. Deadlift is just a good overall exercise to do, since it really strengthens your core and erector spinae. The power clean though might give you some added strength and balance and speed, due to the explosive movements with the clean and the semi front squat you perform to get the barbell into position. Deadlift, is one of the better exercises if you're getting into powerlifting sincei ts one of the big 3 (bench, deadlift, squat) but you'll benefit your tennis game more with the power cleans. Why not strengthen your shoulders while you're at it and do a power clean and press? I do these with kettle balls and barbells often.

stormholloway
03-24-2008, 07:41 PM