PDA

View Full Version : March Racket Madness

RERobbins
03-27-2008, 01:59 PM
I've been playing with a Volkl Quantum 8 for the past seven years and recently concluded that it is time for a change. I selected the Volkl when I was getting back into the game after a ten year hiatus. While that racket was fine at the time, there are better rackets for me now.

I'm 45 and a 4.0+ player. I play mostly singles and tend to linger at the baseline. My strokes are compact to moderate. I've not had problems with tennis elbow.

I've been demoing rackets and am driving myself crazy.

At the moment, my favorites are the Prince O3 Speedport Tour and the Wilson K Blade 98. I've not yet had a chance to hit the O3 Speedport Black. I suspect I should give the Wilson K Pro Open a shot as well. I also enjoyed the Dunlop Aerogel 300 -- but not as much as the Speedport or the K Blade.

The Dunlop felt a little too light, which pushed me more toward the Speedport Tour. The K Blade felt wonderful on my ground strokes but I'm having a hard time hitting my serves well with that frame. It's as if I'm looking for a racket that's a tad lighter than the Speedport Tour and a bit heavier than the K98.

I didn't really like the Head Microgel Radical 98 or the Babolat Pure Storm. The Wilson K 6.1 team was pleasant enough, but I preferred the rackets listed above.

I know that I just need to keep hitting these things. I'm wondering if based on what I've described above if there are any obvious candidates that you might recommend for me to try.

Thanks in advance,

I'd like to get through my final four and identify a champion soon!

-- Rich

Doc Hollidae
03-27-2008, 02:01 PM
Might give the Ozone Tour a look. Weight is in the middle of the two, however the power level is closer to the Kblade than the SP Tour.

The SP White Pro might be worth a consideration as well.

RERobbins
03-27-2008, 02:05 PM
Where does the O3 Speedport Black slot into the mix?

Doc Hollidae
03-27-2008, 02:07 PM