PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible for a racquet to die???

Pisolino227
03-27-2008, 08:19 PM
Hey guys,
So I've been hitting with my pure control team for maybe 3 years now and the last few times it's played terribly. I keep having it restrung and it just feels limp. Is it possible that a racquet can just go limp from the stress of hitting over a few years or am I completely off here. The more I string this racquet the worse it gets, again it just feels deader than a doornail.

kPHAT
03-27-2008, 08:24 PM
here is a crazy idea, get a new stick

AceofBase
03-27-2008, 08:28 PM
Its human too you know, everything dont live that long!

dantespark33
03-27-2008, 10:05 PM
maybe it has a crack?

Commando Tennis Shorts
03-27-2008, 10:18 PM
I've still not seen or felt any actual reliable evidence to suggest that a racquet can go "dead", despite the opinion of (it seems) everyone on these boards

Bud
03-27-2008, 10:48 PM
I've still not seen or felt any actual reliable evidence to suggest that a racquet can go "dead", despite the opinion of (it seems) everyone on these boards

Me either.

crawl4
03-27-2008, 10:54 PM
their might be a crack or maybe you dont play the way you used to :sad:

kanjii
03-27-2008, 11:18 PM
Can someone define what a dead racquet is? I take my Adidas Lendl GTX Pro-T out once ina while and hit with it. Play with topspin, goes over the net and stays in court. Couldn't tell you if it feels dead or not.

jxs653
03-27-2008, 11:20 PM
I think racquet dies only when it gets cracked.

Commando Tennis Shorts
03-28-2008, 12:29 AM
Can someone define what a dead racquet is? I take my Adidas Lendl GTX Pro-T out once ina while and hit with it. Play with topspin, goes over the net and stays in court. Couldn't tell you if it feels dead or not.

Some people believe (and I stress 'believe') that continual hitting weakens the fibers or whatever in a racquet, and after a while, your racquet supposedly feels like a noodle the ball dies on it, or something like that