PDA

View Full Version : Changing from a good 2-handed backhand to a 1-Hander- My Story.....

Carlito
03-28-2008, 11:30 AM
The reason I am posting this is because i am seeing a lot of post from people asking for advice about one handers and also post about how one handers suck. Perhaps others can say why they changed and their experience.

I was about 14 in 1994 or so when I decided to change backhands. I had been playing since I was twelve. I was already pretty good for my age (varsity as a freshman, I think I was ranked around 60 or so in SoCal I used to beat a lot of adults who say they were 4.0+ etc.). I thought I had a good 2 hander, very consistent and good power.

The reason I changed was because I wanted to play a more attacking style. I was also serving and volleying alot and playing double. Also because the pros I really admired had one handers (Sampras, Becker, Edberg, Graf).

Changing was very very difficult at first. I was still playing with the two hander for matches and practicing the one hander on the side. One day I decide to commit to the switch. The first couple matches was rough. I think I lost in the first round of tournaments 4 out of 5 times. I was winning about 50% of my matches overall and losing to people I often beat. Things were not looking good but I decided to stick with it

One of the main reasons I had a tough time adjusting was I just wasn't strong enough yet. I figure the one hander uses a totally separate set of muscles that I just didn't normally use. Also it has to do with shoulder fleixibily and other physiological stuff like that Im sure. Also the Muscle memory wasn't there yet. I probably took 3 months just for me to feel like I could really hit the ball with any strength.