PDA

View Full Version : trouble misshitting and framing

syne8691
04-03-2008, 10:26 PM
hey, i'm new to TW forums so I apologize in advance if i'm lacking information to diagnose my problem..

i have a problem of framing and mis-hitting a lot of my shots, both groundstrokes and volleys, but i can't figure out a reason why and how to fix it..

does anyone have any tips to improve contact with the ball?

2leftfeet
04-03-2008, 10:32 PM
try this drill. check out his others vids. this guy's videos are good for developing good technique. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QtOsr29lvp8

Northpaw
04-03-2008, 10:43 PM
Okay, I know this troubleshooting sounds trivial, but I'm telling you because it's usually what I'm doing wrong, in order of likeliness.

Groundstrokes-

1.) Take the freaking racket back. There's no way in hell you're going to make contact in front of you if you don't have some kind of take back, especially on your backhand

2.) Don't be lazy and wait for the ball to come to you, actually move towards the quickly so you'll be able to set up your shots. You should utilize every second you have before the ball comes to set up.

3.) Look at the ball at the moment of contact, and keep your head down for a split second after the ball has left. The person on the other side of the court probably isn't going anywhere, focus your attention on what matters more.

Volleys-
1.) Keep your arms out in FRONT of you. It's pretty much impossible to hit a clean volley if the ball is beside you. If you have to reach backwards to hit a normal volley, something's desperately wrong.

2.) Don't swing. You definitely don't have enough time, and it's an almost guaranteed shank.

Obviously for me, my biggest problem is catching the ball late. Whenever I start sucking, I focus on hitting the ball out in front of me, and wa-lah, I stop sucking. Well, these are my problems, I'm not sure how much it'll help you. :wink:

split-step
04-03-2008, 10:49 PM