PDA

View Full Version : what does nadal have to do to be no 1 now?

tingaling
04-07-2008, 12:19 AM
is it possible for him to gain no 1 before the french? perhaps if fed loses early in one or 2 o the ms? and nadal equals what he did last year and the year before and the year before?

can anyine tell me, im not very good with numbers

Rhino
04-07-2008, 01:25 AM
Nadal can't really gain any points during the clay season, except an extra 150 by winning Hamburg, so he has to continue to win all his usual clay titles as normal.
After that it's out of his hands and more about what Federer and Djokovic do.
Federer can gain points in Estoril (win worth 200 points) and Rome (he could gain 425 if he won it) and Monte Carlo (150), but if he went out in his first matchs in Monte Carlo, Rome, and Hamburg, he'd lose over 900 points which would be enough to lose his #1 ranking.

PROTENNIS63
04-07-2008, 04:57 PM
win every single match for the next few months. He will become number 1 for sure.

flyer
04-07-2008, 05:37 PM
It depends a whole lot on what Federer does, he could either make it really easy or really hard, Federer has 2625 pts to defend through the grass season, thats a lot, if Nadal just defends his like he did last season and Federer has even just one slip up, like say an early exit from the French, Nadal could take over number one, it is that close and the tennis is being played on clay, which is Nadals best surface and Roger's worst, and grass, Rogers best and Nadals second best but the grass season is like 1/3 as much in terms of possible points, so it certainly very possible, don't forget about Djokovic though I think despite his lose so far this year he has been by far the top player just look at the ATP Race...

roysid
04-07-2008, 08:10 PM
Now the difference is about 700 points. So in clay season ranking switch will be most unlikely. Fed will gain points in Estoril and Rome.