PDA

View Full Version : Why don't camcorder specs list frames per second?


bank5
04-12-2008, 06:29 AM
I just started researching camcorders and am leaning towards the Canon ZR850. It has a max shutter speed of 1/2000 which should be more than enough for my tennis swing.

I'm having trouble find the FPS specs on camcorders and am not sure why it isn't listed. How can I tell the fps speeds for certain camcorders? I would like the highest frame rate as possible so I can analyze slow-motion swings but have a budget around $300.

Andres
04-12-2008, 06:32 AM
They don't? Most of them do. That's odd.

chess9
04-12-2008, 06:41 AM
http://www.samsung.com/cp/products/camcorder/digitalmemory/sc_hmx10axac.asp

60 frames per second is probably good enough for non-commercial applications.

-Robert

bank5
04-12-2008, 07:00 AM
They don't? Most of them do. That's odd.

Maybe it's because I'm looking at miniDV ones. I've seen the recording speed spec but it lists it as SP and LP. I'm guessing Standard Play is around 30fps and Long Play is slower.

albino smurf
04-12-2008, 07:46 AM
SP is 30 fps and LP is usually some kind of 15 fps with compression algorithims.. so lower grade. Most lower end camcorders will be recording at 30 fps. That Samsung is sweet looking BTW.