PDA

View Full Version : Which serves should I use and/or work on?

1337Kira
04-16-2008, 06:44 PM
Basically I have a flat, slice and a kick serve in my serving "repertoire."
I'm not exactly sure when to use which (other than flat first, spin second). Nor am I sure which serves are best to hone.

My flat serve is a flip of a coin. Some days it's on and I can bang away the aces, other days I might as well only take one serve.
Hitting a medium pace flat serve feels really weird and I'm not too good at it...

My slice serve used to be my serve of choice. Way back when, it was really consistent, but it was really spinny and didn't have that much pace.
I use it once in a while, but it just doesn't seem that useful to me.

My kick serve is what I'm working on now. It's gotten pretty good, I can really make the ball kick (I got a bunch of aces by having it kick over a short kid-but I felt like a total d-bag).
I can get good pace and spin, but it's a mix and match- sometimes I can get both, other times it's just spin. It just depends on how well I'm serving that day.
Lately I've been hitting it long alot. Perhaps I'm tossing it too far back?
It used to be really consistent, but after I've started playing outside it's been a whole-nother story...
I used it as my first and second serves, but a coach told me at the varsity level I should hit a flat for a first serve and save the safer serve for the second.

Anyway. What serves do you think I use use and/or work on?

Gantz
04-16-2008, 09:16 PM
know what? i think you should learn the invisible serve. the short kid wouldn't even be able to see it.

anyways, what is your main goal on why you're trying to improve your serve? are you trying to build up a consistent serve and finish the point with groundstrokes? or a killer first serve and a reliable second?