PDA

View Full Version : The search for poor man's string

charaseac
04-17-2008, 11:50 PM
I just started playing tennis for one and half year. The cost here in Vancouver is expensive. Then this is where i started to look for cheaper alternative.

From what i found so far, major name doesn't always mean the best for string. the non major string maker produce good strings too and they are generally cheaper because they don't endorse top players to use their string which = savings for customer.

So, let's start our search for the best price/performance ratio.

Price here is obvious.

For performance we can narrow the criteria to things that will eventually lead to saving:

Durability: Strings not breaking which lead to less restringing
Less tension loss: Strings keep its performance which lead to less restringing
Playability: Strings playability is on par with more expensive major brand strings which means saving too.

We assume that 1 reel will be enough to string about 18 times

Please answer with price per stringing (without the labour cost) and comments about the performance.

I searched around and read reviews from this forum, then i researched on the price. Right now i only know about poly, so these are what i consider relatively cheap (<= $100) with good reviews across this board
For starters, let me provide prices of these strings

- Topspin Cyber Flash ($68/reel)
- Pro Supex Big Ace ($80/reel)
- Topspin Cyber Power ($85/reel)
- Signum Pro Poly Plasma ($99/reel)
- Pro Supex Blue Gear ($100/reel)

I also found from 1 website Which provide with a new nylon string which is crazy cheap

- Forten Competition Nylon ($17/reel) --> no, its not typo, it is $17/reel

charaseac
04-17-2008, 11:55 PM
This is the example of what i expect:

Full Cyber Flash
$68/reel = $3.78/stringing (68/18)

Comments: Good durability and so on...

or this is what i actually found the cheapest:

Hybrid Cyber flash + Forten Competition Nylon
Cyber flash $68/reel
Forten $17/reel