PDA

View Full Version : Two sets of 15ft string, can you do a two piece on the mains?


muredhawks
04-18-2008, 04:38 AM
So I have two 15ft sets of enduro pro, do you think I can some how do a two piece on the mains of a mfil 300? If so, how?

Will use syn gut in the crosses. 6 knot string job?

themitchmann
04-18-2008, 04:54 AM
I wouldn't. The 300 can get messy at the shoulders with potential cross-overs...more tie-offs would complicate this further. Not to mention the stress on the frame from starting a second piece on the mains.

Save the string for something with a small headsize...you may be able to make it work with 15ft, depending on the stick.

flash9
04-18-2008, 05:49 AM
Not worth the headache. You will need to enlarge a couple grommets half way down the frame. It is just not worth the hassle.

Nuke
04-18-2008, 05:52 AM
Use them in the Weed Whacker.

jonolau
04-18-2008, 06:14 AM
An MFil 300 will need at least 18' for the mains in a 2 piece ... and with 18' you will need to use a starting clamp as a jumper.

In these cases, my cutters come out immediately so that I won't see those 15' sets ever again ... no use thinking about it.

Bubba
04-18-2008, 07:12 AM
Not worth it. Save them for patches or tension tester.

Nuke
04-18-2008, 07:23 AM
Not worth it. Save them for patches or tension tester.

Patches? Patches? You mean like in the ancient days when folks would replace a single string when it broke. I don't think you'll find many stringers here who recommend that.

PBODY99
04-18-2008, 03:15 PM
You could save it to use as the cross string in an Multi / poly hy-bird, if you have someone who wants to try it.
The extra length of Multi< reel any one>handles all the mains plus three to four of the crosses. I have a player who likes this set up since he often mis-hits high in the racket face and wants the all the softness of a multi at the tip.
Of course if you are a string breaker, this won't work.