PDA

View Full Version : Racquet Suggestions for a desperate man

Brianlee78
04-21-2008, 10:44 AM
I am a 4.0 all court player. I'm 6'4" and have a big serve but am having some major problems with my forehand. I used Wilson Pro Staff classic's through high school them took a break from playing for about six years. I started playing competitively again last year and my wife bought me a Wilson K six.one 95 (16 x 18). I like the racket but sometimes I can't get through the ball fast enough and I keep pushing forehands long. Do you have any suggestions on what racket I should use? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Brian

z-money
04-21-2008, 10:46 AM
i have some head prestige classics if your interested

superstition
04-21-2008, 11:10 AM
I am a 4.0 all court player. I'm 6'4" and have a big serve but am having some major problems with my forehand. I used Wilson Pro Staff classic's through high school them took a break from playing for about six years. I started playing competitively again last year and my wife bought me a Wilson K six.one 95 (16 x 18). I like the racket but sometimes I can't get through the ball fast enough and I keep pushing forehands long. Do you have any suggestions on what racket I should use? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Brian
Try better string, like gut. A string change is always the first step.

Rasta
04-21-2008, 11:11 AM
Babolat Pure Drive Cortex.

Brianlee78
04-21-2008, 02:24 PM
I have tried the string change, I'm using Wilson NXT 16's and really like them but still having the same problems.

superstition
04-21-2008, 04:26 PM
I have tried the string change, I'm using Wilson NXT 16's and really like them but still having the same problems.
Have you tried 17 gauge gut? Synthetic multis at 16 gauge are significantly stiffer and less efficient. If you're sending balls long your string tension may be too low. I never use 16 gauge string, of any type.

bad_call
04-21-2008, 05:44 PM
Thanks,
Brian