PDA

View Full Version : New TWU Customization Tool


TW Professor
05-27-2008, 08:20 AM
Check out the new TWU Customization Tool:

http://twu.tennis-warehouse.com/learning_center/customization.html

It shows you how much and where to add weight to meet your inputed requirements. Answers look like this (all depending on your input requirements):

http://twu.tennis-warehouse.com/images/3location.jpghttp://twu.tennis-warehouse.com/images/2location.jpg

Will give answers in any units desired.
Also contains new swingweight calculator.

TW Professor
05-27-2008, 08:35 AM
Check out the new TWU Swingweight Calculator at:

http://twu.tennis-warehouse.com/learning_center/customization.html

or below for instructions on how to do:

http://twu.tennis-warehouse.com/learning_center/howto_swingweight.html

A pop up calculator can be obtained from the twu home page:

http://twu.tennis-warehouse.com

NLBwell
05-28-2008, 10:00 PM
The TWU calculators are pretty cool. Thanks a lot.

It would be useful to have a swingweight calculator where you could put in where you added weight to the racket and have the swingweight as an output.

M J
05-29-2008, 04:50 PM
It would be useful to have a swingweight calculator where you could put in where you added weight to the racket and have the swingweight as an output.

Such a thing does exist: http://www.racquettech.com/store/learningcenter/lc_combinedswtbal.html

NLBwell
05-29-2008, 08:20 PM
Thank you.

Shangri La
05-30-2008, 01:00 PM
wonder how accurate the sw calculation is in theory.

TW Professor
05-30-2008, 03:48 PM
wonder how accurate the sw calculation is in theory.

The do-it-yourself swingweight is very accurate. In all tests against a commercial device, this method is comparable. Even a commercial device varies 1-2 units from measurement to measurement on the same racquet. The only theoretical restraint is to keep the swing less than 15 degrees. Even swings as small as you can barely see will work.

In practice is where error can creep in. You have to be very accurate on your measurement to the hanging string and the timing with the stop watch. With practice you will find you can get the same elapsed time within hundredths of a second--often getting the exact same time.

And even with any timing error, it will be probably be closer than anything you can feel the difference for.

meowmix
05-30-2008, 05:21 PM
I was actually trying that calc last night, when i somehow came up with a swingweight of 72 for my Ipex 7.0MP. I'm still trying to figure out where I went wrong...:
weight: 12.2ounces
balance pt: 31.5cm
handle to string: 64.9
time for swings: 10.432, 10.190, 10.093
swingweight: 72?!!!

Shangri La
05-30-2008, 10:33 PM
The do-it-yourself swingweight is very accurate. In all tests against a commercial device, this method is comparable. Even a commercial device varies 1-2 units from measurement to measurement on the same racquet. The only theoretical restraint is to keep the swing less than 15 degrees. Even swings as small as you can barely see will work.

In practice is where error can creep in. You have to be very accurate on your measurement to the hanging string and the timing with the stop watch. With practice you will find you can get the same elapsed time within hundredths of a second--often getting the exact same time.

And even with any timing error, it will be probably be closer than anything you can feel the difference for.

Thank you Professor : ) Gotta give it a try !

TW Professor
05-31-2008, 05:40 AM
I was actually trying that calc last night, when i somehow came up with a swingweight of 72 for my Ipex 7.0MP. I'm still trying to figure out where I went wrong...:
weight: 12.2ounces
balance pt: 31.5cm
handle to string: 64.9
time for swings: 10.432, 10.190, 10.093
swingweight: 72?!!!

I suspect your timing is off. However, it would have to be off by a lot--over 3 seconds! Double check the following:

1. Count when the handle is at the top of its swing (it comes to a stop there so it easiest to see).
2. Start the watch at the top of the swing and count #1 is after the handle has gone back and all the way forward again. Maybe you are missing a swing by starting the watch at 1.
3. Have a mark on the floor against which to view the swings. Place the mark so that when you stand over the racquet you can adjust your line of sight so that the butt of the handle just reaches the mark at the apex of each swing (as the handle swings less, just move your line of sight slightly to realign).
4. View swings from above.
5. After you tap or push the handle to get the racquet swinging, let it swing a a few times so you can get its rhythm. Then you will be poised to start the watch right at the peak of the swing.

I hope this helps.

srvnvly
06-04-2008, 08:10 AM
kudos, TW, for making a great site even better!

Mansewerz
06-04-2008, 09:45 AM
Wait, let's say my racquet is 8 pts HL on a 27 inch frame. Each point is an eighth of an inch right? So the balance point is 12.5 inches?

jace112
06-04-2008, 12:25 PM
On the few frames that I own the difference between the calculator and a RDC is within the 5 kg.cm² range. Pretty cool, isn't it?

Josherer
06-19-2008, 02:35 AM
looks goooddiishhh :0

2nd_Serve
06-20-2008, 12:10 PM
That's pretty cool. But how many inches/cm is 9 points hl?

AlpineCadet
06-20-2008, 12:13 PM
That's pretty cool. But how many inches/cm is 9 points hl?
1 point is 1/8 of an inch; 8points = 1 inch.

2nd_Serve
06-20-2008, 12:32 PM
Wait, let's say my racquet is 8 pts HL on a 27 inch frame. Each point is an eighth of an inch right? So the balance point is 12.5 inches?

Wait...If 1 point is an 1/8 of an inch, how did you get 12.5 inches?

AlpineCadet
06-20-2008, 01:10 PM
Wait...If 1 point is an 1/8 of an inch, how did you get 12.5 inches?
Well it's either because the frame is INSANELY HL, or they are measuring from the buttcap to the middle of the frame. If it's a standard length frame, then it's 27/2 - 12.5.

Gorecki
08-18-2008, 07:09 AM
not working? server down?

AT92292
08-20-2008, 12:02 PM
yea hasnt been working for me either

el sergento
08-21-2008, 11:12 AM
What specs should be plugged into the calculator; strung or unstrung specs??

brizzle77
09-02-2008, 04:48 PM
I'm having trouble because it says "Only numbers allowed". I dont know what I am doing wrong.

I have a stock AeroPro Drive

27in
11.3oz
SW 323

What am I doing wrong?

TW Professor
09-03-2008, 06:51 AM
I'm having trouble because it says "Only numbers allowed". I dont know what I am doing wrong.

I have a stock AeroPro Drive

27in
11.3oz
SW 323

What am I doing wrong?

You might be typing in a comma, space, period, or return in one of the fields.
Are you putting units in after the numbers? Don't. It figures out what units you intend.